The Ministry of Education and Higher Education (MOEHE) has issued the list of accredited universities where interested candidates need a prior approval to join, yet at their own expenses and as per the distant learning system. Students are required to get the approval of the University Certificates Equivalency Department before starting their courses.

The list comprises 156 accredited universities in four countries, namely the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia and New Zealand. The issuance of this list came in line with the Cabinet Decision No.3 of 2017 on the Issuance of University Certificates Equivalency System.

Dr Khalid al-Hur, Director of the Higher Education Institute, clarified that distant learning has now become a common pattern in higher education, and a lot of internationally-distinguished universities have adopted this pattern in several programs. The University Certificates Equivalency System is one that offers education and teaching to students who are not necessarily present physically in a traditional learning environment, such as study halls.

Source: Government of Qatar